Volunteer Recognition


Jesse L. Kagle Distiguished Volunteer Service Award

Jesse L. Kagle, Jr, was a United Way champion. Serving 24 years as an Executive Director, his spirit for community and the work of United Way continues to be remembered even today! The Jesse L. Kagle Award for Distinguished Service was created in his honor to celebrate a volunteer whose spirit for the community, in particular the mission of United Way, moves them to go above and beyond in commitment and service to Washington County, MD, serving a number of years and in a variety of capacities within the United Way structure, to include but not limited to Board of Directors, any United Way of Washington County committees such as Campaign, Finance, Marketing & Communications, Youth United, Resource Development, Day of Caring, and Community Impact & Investment Committee.

How are winners selected?

One volunteer is recognized who demonstrates spirit for the community and United Way by committing time and energy through volunteering with UWWC. Nominations are accepted by anyone involved with United Way. Former Kagle award winners will select one individual for this award.

Greg Lloyd

Congratulations to the 2020-2021 Jesse L. Kagle Award Winner!

Robert T. Barnhart Day of Caring Service Award

Robert Barnhart is a long-term United Way volunteer. Bob retired after 24 years with Mack. While there he was known to many co-workers as “Mr. United Way.” As a United Way volunteer he took on many roles and believed there was no job he was too proud to do. Bob continues to serve Washington County through United Way and its Day of Caring.


In the Robert T. Barnhart spirit, this award recognizes an individual, team, or organization that goes above and beyond expectations during the Day of Caring, all while displaying a Live United spirit.

Chris Howlett

Congratulations to the 2020-2021 Robert T. Barnhart Day of Caring Service Award Winner!

Traveling FIRE Award - Outstanding Achievement in Finance, Insurance, & Real Estate

Selection criteria:

  • Must be in one of the following categories: Finance, Insurance, or Real Estate
  • Received an Outstanding Achievement certificate during the current campaign
  • Proof of community involvement & volunteerism to show LIVE UNITED spirit

How it works:

One FIRE business will be selected by the campaign committee to receive the traveling award. This is a perpetual award with 12 plates to be engraved with business name and year. It will remain with the current winning business for a period of up to 12 months.


Congratulations to the 2020-2021 FIRE Award Winners!

Outstanding Achievement - Nonprofit Impact Partner Award 

Selection criteria:

  • Must be a health and human service agency serving Washington County, MD.
  • Must have received an outstanding achievement nonprofit organization certificate
  • If currently receiving a Community Impact Grant, agency must be in good standing with United Way of Washington County, MD.

How it works:

The campaign committee selects one nonprofit organization currently receiving Community Impact Grant funds who meet the above criteria. 


Congratulations to the 2020-2021 Outstanding Achievement Nonprofit Impact Partner Winner!

Employee Campaign Coordinator of the Year Award 

Selection criteria: 

  • Coordinator whose leadership and dedication to the community inspire the LIVE UNITED spirit. Usually involves a creative approach that leads to an increase in campaign.

How it works:

The campaign committee selects one individual for this award.


Megan Curry

Congratulations to the 2020-2021 Employee Campaign Coordinator of the Year Award Winner!

Michael G. Callas Excellence Award 

Selection Criteria:

  • Company that exhibits outstanding community involvement, sustained campaign excellence, and promotes volunteerism. It is usually a top campaign performer.

How it works: 

This award is sponsored by Michael G. Callas Trust. The Campaign Committee selects one winner from the top outstanding achievement winner from various other categories/segments. 

Jamison Door

Congratulations to the 2020-2021 Michael G. Callas Campaign Excellence Award Winner!

Gary Hayes

Many thanks to our 2020-2021 Campaign Chair for the hard work and dedication put into another successful year!